Scarred by Willow Winters – Review

Scarred by Willow Winters
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
Title: Scarred
Author: Willow Winters
Genre: Romantic Suspense
Release Date: December 5, 2017

It was too hard to keep her.

Kat was never supposed to be mine, Not with my reputation.

But the way her lips tasted, the way her curves felt under my hands… I couldn’t let go.

So I gave her everything—my life, my heart, my ring.

She made me a better man, but I still wasn’t good enough to keep her.

I should have known it would end this way.

But I’m not a man who gives up. I made her stay once, and I’ll do it again.

Just watch me.

Scarred is the second book in this duet and should be read following Damaged.

Now Available For $2.99



Amount of sex 2 / 5
How explicit 2 / 5
Story 4 / 5
Overall: 4 / 5

Scarred is the fourth book in the ‘Sins and Secrets Series of Duets,’ and the second and final book in a duet within the series.  I had not read the first duet within the series and had no issues with following along. Although, it is necessary to read the third book, Damaged, to understand and follow along.

We begin where we were left off, with Kat and Evan continuing to have marital issues and still on the cusp of a divorce.  There was so much drama, angst, and tension that I often felt like it was a tennis match between Kat and Evan.  I even was on edge and wished Kat and Evan would just talk to each other rather than assuming the other couldn’t handle things. I enjoyed Scarred, but it was a little too much tension and angst for me.



Damn me for what I’ve done,
Hate me for the lie.
Let the web weave and thread,
But don’t let what we have die.

I know it in my blood,
She’s mine to keep and hold.
I’ll stop fighting only once,
When I’m dead and cold.

The piles of dirt are getting larger. The metal shovels pierce the frozen soil. The sound cuts through my bones, one and then another and another.
It’s been constant as I stand here, helpless. I’ve never been colder, the wind and bitter snow beseiging my body, but I still don’t move.
I can’t take my eyes from the two graves.
The shovels spill the dirt, the piles mounting as my eyes drift to the tombstones.
The first my father, a man who died before his time. A death of tragedy.
And then to my wife’s. My love’s. Gone before her time. No one believes me. He put her there. James killed her.
My eyes pop open wide when I hear Kat whisper, “It’s all your fault.”

I wake up breathless, my heart pounding and I swear I can feel Kat’s hot breath on my neck even though I’m alone. My eyes dart around the room as I slowly lift my body into a sitting position on the bed.
Just a terror. The same as last night.
I’m quick to grab the video monitor for the security system from the nightstand and flick the button on to bring it to life. I had it installed after the break-in.
It’s only when I see Kat in our bed, that my heart starts to calm, and my heated skin seems to succumb to the chill of reality.
She’s okay.
I close my eyes and when I open them, it’s an image of her rolling over in bed. To my side. My fingers brush the glass where she is. I’ll be there soon. I’ll be with her and it’ll all be over. I won’t let her down.

Title: Damaged
Author: Willow Winters
Genre: Romantic Suspense
Release Date: November 14, 2017
I married the bad boy from Brooklyn.
The one with the tattoos and the look in his eyes that told me he was bad news.
The look that comes with all sorts of warnings.
I knew what I was doing.
I knew by the way he put his hands on me; how he owned me with his forceful touch.
I couldn’t say no to him, not that I wanted to. That was then, and it seems like forever ago.
Years later, I’ve grown up and moved on. But he’s still the man I married. Dangerous in ways I don’t like to think about. Sexy as sin, he attracts all the wrong kinds of temptations.
The kind that lands a couple like us in the gossip columns.
The kind that’s unforgivable.
The kind that splits up marriages.
I did this to myself. I knew better than to love him.
And now I’m fucked.

I married the bad boy from Brooklyn. And I don’t know how to survive this.

Now Available For $2.99





Amount of sex 2 / 5
How explicit 2 / 5
Story 4.5 / 5
Overall: 4.5 / 5

Damaged is the third book in the ‘Sins and Secrets Series of Duets,’ but the first in a new pair within the series.  I had not read the first duet within the series and had no issues with following along.  The storyline was emotional and filled with angst and drama.   It was well written, and my heart was hurting for both Kat and Evan.

In this story, Kat and Evan are having marital issues and on the cusp of a divorce.  Throughout the book, we uncover secrets that Evan has been keeping and Kat is having a difficult time with forgiving.  Kat has also contributed to the problems within their marriage, and it was heartbreaking and emotional to read.


The book ends with a cliffhanger, and I can’t wait to find out what happens next to Kat and Evan.

Hopefully, they can find their way back to each other.

There is a giveaway for signed paperback sets of Imperfect & Unforgiven and Damaged & Scarred – 4 winners for each duet (8 winners total, open internationally)

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Willow Winters is so happy to be a USA Today, Wall Street Journal and #1 Contemporary Bestselling Romance Author. She likes her action hot and her bad boys hotter. She certainly doesn’t hold back on either one in her writing!Willow started writing after having her little girl, Evie, December 2015. All during her pregnancy with Evie she continued to read and she only wanted to read romance. She was reading a book a day — sometimes two.

In January 2016 Willow was staying up late with Evie and just thinking of all these stories. They came to her constantly so she finally sat down and just started writing. She always wanted to do it so she figured, why not? Today Willow cannot be happier for making that decision!




One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
Rating Report
Amount of sex
2 / 5
How explicit
2 / 5
4 / 5
Overall: 4 / 5